Travel Guide

                                         Hungary Magyarorszag

                                Buda castle Hungary  Buda Castle Budapest

The quick travel guide to Hungary and Budapest


Hungary is a country in central Europe, it shares borders with the Slovak Republic to the north, Ukraine and Romania to the east, Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia to the south and Austria to the west. The country covers 93,030 sq km and the population is around 10.3 million. Most of the country is low lying, the highest point is Kekes Peak in the Matra mountain at 1,015m. The River Danube flows through the centre of the country and also through the capital Budapest. Budapest is also the largest city with 1.8 million inhabitants. The Hungarian currency is the Florint. 

Slightly more than one half of Hungary's landscape consists of flat to rolling plains of the Pannonian Basin: the most important plain regions include the Little Hungarian Plain in the west, and the Great Hungarian Plain in the southeast. 


 The highest mountains of the country are located in the Carpathians: these lie in the northern parts, in a wide band along the Slovakian border. Hungary is divided in two by its main waterway, the Danube (Duna); other large rivers include the Tisza and Dráva, while the Transdanubia area contains Lake Balaton, the largest lake in central Europe. The largest thermal lake in the world, Lake Hévíz (Hévíz Spa), is located in Hungary. The second largest lake in the Pannonian Basin is the artificial Lake Tisza. 

Hungary has a continental climate with hot summers and cold winters. Average temperatures vary across the country - summer temperatures above 30c are not uncommon and in winter temperatures can drop to -15c but around 0c is more likely.  

After the end of World War II Hungary became part of the Soviet Union which imposed a communist system of govenment in the country. After the break up of the Soviet union in 1989 hungray held free elections and voted to move away from communism towards a capitalist society. Soviet troops left Hungary in 1991 without any bloodshed. In 1997 in a national referendum 85% voted in favour of Hungary joining NATO. A year later the European Union began negotiations with Hungary on full membership. In 1999 Hungary joined NATO. Hungary voted in favour of joining the EU, and joined in 2004.

Hungary is a member of EU, NATO, OECD, and is a Schengen (open borders) state. The official and vernacular language is Magyar, one of the languages, which are part of the Finno-Ugric family, thus one of the four official languages of the European Union that are not of Indo-European origin. The currency is the Florint (1 florint = 100 filler) 

Administratively Hungary is divided into 19 counties and six regions. the regions are; Western Transdanubia, Southern Transdanubia, Central Transdanubia, Central Hungary, Northern Hungary, Northern Great Plain, Southern Great Plain. Hungary has 10 national parks, 145 minor nature reserves and 35 landscape protection areas. After Budapest the next largest cities are; Debrecen - population 207,000, Miskolc - 170,000, Szeged 169,000.


Location Map of Hungary

                     Map of Hungary 

Interactive Map of Hungary

View Larger Map

< Greece                                                                                                                                        Ireland >



Flag of European Union

Guide to Europe

Travel Guide to the European Union 2013