Travel Guide

                                         The Netherlands Nederlands

                                                   Tulips from Keukenhof Holland Tulips from Keukenhof 

The quick travel guide to the Netherlands and Amsterdam


The Netherlands is more usually known as Holland, - it is located on the north west coast of Europe facing the The North Sea. The Netherlands is a relatively small country which covers an area of 41,526 sq km and a population of 15.2 million. It has borders with Germany to the east, Belgium to the south and the North sea to the west and north. The capital is Amsterdam which has a population of around 725,000 and placed near the centre of the country. The Dutch government is based in The Hague.

The Netherlands in its entirety is often referred to as Holland, although North and South Holland are actually only two of its twelve provinces. The word Dutch is used to refer to the people, the language, and anything pertaining to the Netherlands. The official language is Dutch.


The Netherlands is a geographically low-lying country, with about 20% of its area and 21% of its population located below sea level, with 50% of its land lying less than one metre above sea level. Significant land area has been gained through land reclamation and preserved through an elaborate system of polders and dikes. The large body of water called Ijsselmeer has been created by the system of dykes. Much of the Netherlands is formed by the estuary of three important European rivers, which together with their distributaries form the Rhine-Meuse-Scheldt delta. Most of the country is very flat, with the exception of foothills in the far southeast and several low-hill ranges in the central parts. to the north along the coast is a chain of small islands called the Wadden Islands in the past these were called the Frisian Islands. 

The predominant wind direction in the Netherlands is southwest from the North Sea, which causes a moderate maritime climate, with cool summers and mild winters. the average maximum temperature in July/ August is 22.2C and in winter the average minimum temperate is 0C. 

The Netherlands is divided into twelve administrative regions, called provinces, each under a Governor. All provinces are divided into municipalities, there are 431 in total. Aside from the capital other major cities are as follows; Rotterdam with a population of 603,000, The Hague with 488,000,  Utrecht with 301,000 and Eindhoven with 212,000. 

Among other affiliations the country is a founding member of the European Union (EU), NATO, OECD and WTO.


Location Map of the Netherlands

                            Map of Holland 

Interactive Map of The Netherlands

View Larger Map

< Malta                                                                                                                                        Poland > 



Flag of European Union

Guide to Europe

Travel Guide to the European Union 2013