Travel Guide

                                                Portugal Portugal

                                         Oporto Portugal Oporto

The quick travel guide to Portugal and Lisbon


Portugal is located on the western edge of the European mainland overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. It covers an area of 92,390 sq km and has a population of around 9.8 million. Portugal has a border with Spain to the north and east and with the Atlantic Ocean to the south and west. Portugal also includes the Azores and Madeira islands which are autonomous areas in the Atlantic Ocean. 

The capital of Portugal is Lisbon, located in the south west of the country, it has a population of around 2.5 million. It is a member of the European Union (joined the then EEC in 1986, leaving the EFTA where it was a founding member in 1960) and the United Nations; as well as a founding member of the Latin Union, the Organization of Ibero-American States, OECD, NATO, Community of Portuguese Language Countries, the European Union's Eurozone, and also a Schengen state.


Mainland Portugal is split by its main river, the Tagus. The northern landscape is mountainous in the interior with plateaus indented by river valleys, whereas the south, that includes the Algarve and the Alentejo, features mostly rolling plains and a climate somewhat warmer and drier than in the north.

The highest point in mainland Portugal is Serra da Estrela at 1,991m. Portugal's highest peak is Mount Pico on Pico Island in the Azores group; it stands at 2,350 and is fact an extinct volcano. Portugal also contains the western most point of mainland Europe this is at Cabo da Roca (Cape Roca) just west of Lisbon.

The Azores is a Portuguese archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean, about 1,500 km west from Lisbon. There are nine main islands and they are spread out over 600km in a loose group. All of these islands were originally volcanoes but which have been extinct for a long time. The largest island is Sao Miguel, followed by Pico and then Terceira; the largest town in the Azores is Delgada with 45,000 people on the island of Sao Miguel. 

Madeira is around 1000km southwest of Lisbon in the Atlantic Ocean it consists of an archipelago of around twenty islands only two of which are inhabited; these are the island of Madeira and Porto Santo Island. Madeira is a popular year destination for the Portuguese and other EU nationals.


Location Map of Portugal 

                                     Map of Portugal  

Interactive Map of Portugal

View Larger Map

< Poland                                                                                                                                     Romania >


Flag of European Union

Guide to Europe

Travel Guide to the European Union 2013