Travel Guide

                                            Slovenia Slovenija 

                                                  Triglav Lakes Slovenia Triglav Lakes

The quick travel guide to Slovenia and Ljubljana


Slovenia is a small country located in central Europe with an Adriatic coastline to the west and the Alps to the north. Slovenia has a border with Italy to the west, with Austria to the north, Hungary to the east and Croatia to the south. Slovenia covers and area of 20,273 sq km and has a population of just over 2 million. 

The capital is Ljubljana, located near the centre of the country; it has a population of around 268,000 people. Slovenia was one of the six counties which made up the former republic of Yugoslavia. The official language of Slovenia is Slovene and the currency is the Euro. Slovenia joined the EU in May 2004, it belongs to NATO, the WTO and the UN. It is part of the  Schengen area (open borders). 


Around 40% of Slovenia's land mass is elevated land - mostly in the form of mountains and plateaus - which is located in the interior regions of the country. The highest point of Slovenia is the 2,864 metre high Mount Triglav, near the border with Italy. The majority of Slovenian terrain is hilly or mountainous, with around 90% of the surface above 200 metres.

Around half of the country is covered by forests; the third most forested country in Europe, after Finland and Sweden. Remnants of primeval forests are still to be found, the largest in the Kocevje area. Grassland covers a further 25% and fields and gardens 10%. There are a large number of orchards and vineyards. 

There is a Continental climate in the northeast, a severe Alpine climate in the high mountain regions, and a sub-Mediterranean climate in the coastal region. Yet there is a strong interaction between these three climatic systems across most of the country. 

Slovenia offers tourists a wide variety of landscapes in a small space; Alpine in the northwest, Mediterranean in the southwest, Pannonian in the northeast and Dinaric in the southeast.

The nation's capital, Ljubljana, has many important Baroque and Art Nouveau buildings, with several important works of the native born architect Jože Plecnik. Other attractions include the Julian Alps with picturesque Lake Bled and the Soca Valley, as well as the nation's highest peak, Mount Triglav. Perhaps even more famous is Slovenia's karst named after the Karst Plateau in the Slovenian Littoral. More than 28 million visitors have visited Postojna Cave, while a 15-minute ride from it are Škocjan Caves, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Several other caves are open to public, including the Vilenica Cave.

Triglav National Park is a national park located in Slovenia. It was named after Mount Triglav, a national symbol of Slovenia. Triglav is situated almost in the middle of the national park. From it the valleys spread out radially, supplying water to two large river systems having their sources in the Julian Alps: the Soca and the Sava, flowing to the Adriatic and Black Sea, respectively.


Location Map of Slovenia

                              Map of Slovenia 

Interactive Map of Slovenia

View Larger Map

< Slovak Republic                                                                                                        Spain > 



Flag of European Union

Guide to Europe

Travel Guide to the European Union 2013